#LondonIsOpen

#1 Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

I was thrilled to be in London a week after its 30th July premiere. Alas, I was not able to get a ticket to the play as they were all sold out for the next 12 months or more. Nonetheless, I bought the book and loitered around the Palace Theatre – just in case I catch a glimpse of the famous trio. I did not. But I bonded with many doppelgangers.

#2 West End is mind-blowingly inspiring

Catch The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and Beautiful: The Carole King Musical. West End reminded me of my lifelong ambition – a theatre usher. More importantly, it showed me how “sometimes when things do not go your way, you find something beautiful.” #CaroleKing

#3 The Breakfast Club at Soho is awesome

Order the blueberry pancakes and chicken waffles. And while you are at it, try the Sloppy Cow too – you will not regret the food coma after. Goodbye Size 34, and hello Happiness!

#4 The British Museum

I spent the whole afternoon peering over mummies, false doors and ancient stones. At the end of the day, I decided I needed to see Egypt and the Nile with my own eyes.

#5 Spuntino

Please make sure you stop there for lunch, tea or supper. The sharing concept enables greedy people like me to try everything that sounds yummy, and I mean everything. For people who wish to exercise more self-control, do not miss the pulled pork slider, truffle egg toast and key lime pot.

#6 Covent Garden

Sit in the courtyard, sip your wine and listen – or even better, dance – to live music. It’ll connect, heal, and bridge the distance between you and the musicians. In that instant, you’ll resist the trap of growing up, when you no longer have fun.

#7 Liberty

Not the statue, but the institution – my favourite shopping mall. It has class. It has space. It isn’t cluttered, nor does it over-sell its goods. Sad to say, I have not found its equal anywhere else in the world.

#8 Design studios by talented fashion graduates

I was never schooled in arts. I am a science student through and through. Yet my obsession with a word, an image, a story, a romance, makes me a tad too dramatic for my travelling companions. But I do think the world needs more people like these artistic young adults, who express their passion through art. More art, less violence.

#9 Monmouth Coffee Company

Who says you can’t find good coffee in London? ‘Nuff said.

#10 London is open

There are many doors. You just need to have the courage to open and walk through them – opportunities are waiting. Seize them.

Screen Shot 2016-09-01 at 1.15.34 PM

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Life, travel, UPDATEZZZ

Leave a Reply

