I Know What I Did This Summer.

 

I spent half a day wandering in the old and new towns of Zurich. I could not recall the steps I took as a young girl, but I remember the Town Cuckoo Clock vividly and its minute of fairytale chimes. It interested me more than the Rolex watches my colleagues were oohing and aahing over. I didn’t manage to find it this time, but such is life. I strolled to the lake and saw 20-year-old me flash before my eyes – cycling gleefully, and stopping halfway round the lake when my short legs gave way to fatigue. I had given up on my quest to cycle a full round. It amuses me how aware I am of the limits of my body.

And so I bade farewell to Zurich and embarked on my train ride to Bregenz – my first Austrian foray – the land of Mozart, Strauss and Sigmund Freud. Allow me to share three insights from my trip.

#1 You don’t have to be an opera virtuoso to enjoy opera

I strongly recommend including the annual summer Bregenz Festival (Bregenzer Festspiele) in your bucket list of things to do. Here, I caught the famous opera-on-the-lake performance of Turandot. In the face of awe-inspiring beauty, there were twelve times when I experienced a tear-filled, overwhelming surge of emotions. Notably, the sun setting behind the stage, those cinematic moments when the stage transformed itself, and when the water merged into play. For fear of spoiling the experience for you, I will share no more. You have to see it for yourself.

#2 You don’t have to love The Sound Of Music

I was all too prepared to annoy the hell out of my travelling companions as I “doe, a deer, a female deer” into “the hills are alive~~~” on the 12 hr 20 mins plane ride from Singapore. Surprisingly, it was the last thing on my mind during my time in Salzburg. I was completely distracted by the ubiquitous musicians – I bump into one at every turn of the corner, every platz, every street. Young students, old souls. I drowned in their concertos of love and longing, of pain and suffering, of hopes and dreams. You do not need to go on a touristy Julie Andrews’ tour. All you have to do is have an open heart and listen.

#3 You don’t have to love skiing

Snowcapped alpine terrains are splendid on postcards and even more in person. But for someone who doesn’t ski or suffer from acrophobia, summer lovin’ in Innsbruck and its laidback vibes proved to be a lot more relaxing for a workaholic like me.  I spent my afternoons downing Aperol Spritz (my new BFF), chatting with friendly locals, and laughing at how we tourists must have annoyed the locals with our boisterous chatter and clicking cameras. It was then when something stirred inside of me. We are all human, and we have the same needs. Why can’t we just get along?

Screen Shot 2016-08-03 at 7.13.48 PM

 

Leave a comment

Filed under passion, Sight

Leave a Reply

