Thank You, But No.

Life, is not just about what you stand for, but also what you are against.
I am for courage to pursue one’s own dream. I am for kindness and generosity in helping others achieve their goals.
I am against smearing, lampooning and hurting others. Period. It doesn’t end does it? This cycle of hate and irresponsible gossip. Let’s not pretend to be objective when there is no objectivity. We are real people, when you hurt us we actually do bleed. There is no reason good enough to justify such human behaviour.

For public figures some argue that there is no such thing as privacy, and I have no rebuttal for that, whether that hypothesis is fair or not. In fact I am inclined to agree. But I am not asking for privacy here, I am merely asking for decency.

Well, reaction is easy, understanding is hard. It’s all about the optics anyway. Who looks better, richer, happier. It’s gotten so easy to flaunt, that our empty lives could get away looking well-travelled and fulfilled.

I have fought a few battles in my short 40 years of life, and I must admit, sometimes losing was a relief. Sometimes taking a sabbatical break from the race turned out to be the best decision. And yes, sometimes, saying “thank you, but no” is as cathartic as crying.

It’s never over.

But life is too short to get mad.

IMG_3735
(photo credit http://www.styleXstyle.com styled by Daniel Goh)

4 Comments

Filed under Life, love, Thots

4 responses to “Thank You, But No.

  1. Imo

    What happens when living in an Asian home, your family do not approve your chasing of dream (in this case in a foreign land) – do I submit and live a life of regrets and depression or do I leave everything behind and go do what makes me feel alive? It’s inevitable that there’s no compromise or in-between.

  2. Imo

    What if living in an Asian family, the family do not approve of chasing of dream (in this case set in a foreign land), do I submit and live a life of regrets and depression or do I leave everything behind and do what makes me feel alive? It’s inevitable that there’s no compromise or in-between in this scenario.

Leave a Reply

