Hello 2014.

Image

A little slow here (blaming it utterly on the jet lag after my New York City/ Whistler escapade) but it just struck me that 2014 is officially here. It’s been here 14 days already.

I still have problems addressing events that happened this year that should have been last year and last year that should have been the year before that. You get the gist. I have adjustment issues. I thought I have always been the fast-to-adapt-Miss Chameleon-Au, but alas, my therapist is and always will be right, that I cling on too much and let go too little.

So I have decided to…let it go.

Image

Here is my strategy towards being a better person:

I will NOT do the following 5 things anymore, in this new year 2014.

  1. I will stop counting down to the end of my bond. *So for the last time, 3 years 2 months and 17 days left.
  2. I will not feel guilty saying no. So… I am sorry, I can’t make it to your launch, your dinner party, your wedding, your fashion show.
  3. I will not lose my temper at work. It is simply not worth it.
  4. I will stop blaming myself for failed relationships. They end or will end, and it is not necessarily anybody’s fault. If love between 2 people can’t stand the test of time, if it can’t withstand any test, then it is not mine to keep in the first place. Forever doesn’t make any sense. Even as a word.
  5. I will stop excessive reminiscence of my six years abroad in Japan and France. Too much grief I have brought unto myself by comparing then and now, that city of lights and my current home, ichiran ramen and the ramen here, Jardin des Tuileries and our Botanical Gardens. You know the drill. Self destruction all the way. I am taking everything I have here for granted.

I will, however, endeavour to do the following 5 things:

  1. I will go home and have dinner with my loved-ones every working week day. Ok that’s a bit unrealistic…hahhahaha ok ok say 2.5  times a week!!! I promise you Mum!
  2. I will travel every other month.
  3. I will lower my expectations. For everything. For things in general.
  4. I will keep my promises. Or rather I will not make promises so easily.
  5. I will LOVE. YOU. MORE.

Image

“For to live, you have to love”.

Once.

It’s about time I grow up.

11 Comments

Filed under Life, Thots

11 responses to “Hello 2014.

  1. Jellybean

    Admire your strength and resolve. I am in exactly the same shoes as you re life, bond, living overseas and having returned. Still living in the past. It was beautiful.

    It still is now. I just gotta learn to see that.

    Thank you for waking me up babe!

  2. Justina

    And we can always learn to be…a little better than last year, last week or yesterday. Whatever we are today is an amazing journey and not just coincidences.
    Just want to say: “You inspire me.”

    Thank you & happy 2014!

  3. skstarrynite

    *LIKE* esp. point 4 on NOT to do…

  4. steph

    🙂 thanks for sharing and being so real about it. You’re stronger than you know, truer than you realised. I enjoy reading your blog and would love to see you in real one day. Your writing is inspiring and very reflective! wishing you a beautiful and awesome 2014 filled with greater adventures and memorable encounters!

  5. Jk

    I sure miss ichiran ramen! Yamachan tebasaki comes a close second..

  6. E

    Hi Sharon,

    I was totally in the same shoes as you. Been 2 years in Europe, had a long-distance when I came back. It is true everyday you can’t stop comparing every single thing here and there.

    I’m back for close to 5 years but still harbors thoughts of heading back all the time. It is not easy for us to adjust back but the only thing is surround yourself with good friends and love ones to get by every day.

    I sincerely wish you all the best babe 🙂

    Bisous
    E

  7. xue

    You know…everyone is struggling with one thing or another you’ve listed. You make me realise that even with all your experiences in life, whether in work, relationships, life abroad, life in the public eye…you’re no different from us. The struggles are the same, the needs are similar, the pain are equal.
    I had once, with the hopes of our similar experiences and love for the same languages and countries, thought perhaps one day..that one day I could get to know you. I even came close, to saying hi to you back at CDG when you were sending your mum off (when the A380 got really delayed). Humans are too skeptical and critical…we aren’t going to know each other, we’re living in different worlds.
    But this ain’t about me. Just thought you should know, you’re not alone on your struggles. You’re in the eyes of the public, you’re lucky you’re not alone.

  8. CJ

    This is a very good new year’s resolution. When I met you at the Audi Fashion Festival a few years back (you probably dont remember), i was thanking u for coming back to Singapore and u mentioned that u artists will always come back because of the support of fans like me (even if I’m not local). At that time u looked very thin and had a sad aura about you. I later went home and read your blog. It was there that I discovered that you missed your life in Japan and you sorely missed your bf at that time. I felt your pain in the words you wrote and I saw that you were feeling trapped because you needed to fulfill the bond with your company. I wanted to leave comforting words but I know they will not mean much to someone whose heart is torn. Am so glad upon seeing this post that you seem to have recovered and in your resolutions, i saw some of the exact words I would have told you at that time. Time does heal all wounds and the news that you actually got married last year was a surprise to me. Hope you have a happy and more fulfilling life with your new hubby. Yes you do have a lot to be thankful for. Your corporate career is blossoming and your efforts are being rewarded. A lot of people would want to be in your shoes irregardless of the bond commitment. All the best and have fun in your next stage in life!

  9. kkmegan

    I am curious. Does your boss knows you constantly lament openly about your bond? This is usually consider rather unprofessional under most work setting. I am definitely not judging; I am simply trying to understand how this work. Cheers.

  10. kkmegan

    I am curious. Does your boss know you constantly lament openly about your bond? This is usually consider rather unprofessional under most work setting. I am definitely not judging; I am simply trying to understand how this work. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

