Let’s stay friends.

Your voice in my head, singing Simon and Garfunkel. 

Old friends,
Old friends
Sat on their park bench
Like bookends.
A newspaper blown though the grass
Falls on the round toes
Of the high shoes
Of the old friends.

Old friends,
Winter companions,
The old men
Lost in their overcoats,
Waiting for the sunset.
The sounds of the city,
Sifting through trees,
Settle like dust
On the shoulders
Of the old friends.

Can you imagine us
Years from today,
Sharing a park bench quietly? 
How terribly strange
To be seventy.
Old friends,
Memory brushes the same years
Silently sharing the same fears..

IT IS OVER. 

OVER.

Life moves on. And once again I bury myself in the poems that I love. In words I find my sanctuary. 

MEMORIES BRUSHING THE SAME YEARS.. SILENTLY SHARING THE SAME FEARS…

Je me noye dans le courant. 

“J’AI TROP VU TROP SENTI TROP AIMÉ dans ma vie

Je viens chercher vivant le calme du Léthé

Beaux lieux, soyez pour moi ces bords où l´on oublie

L´oubli seul désormais est ma félicité. ”

–Lamartine.

16 Comments

Filed under alone, Life

16 responses to “Let’s stay friends.

  1. KoLd

    tho, i m far away from ya, haha, which makes me a singaporean.
    Just wanna drop by and say hi, Wish everything is fine over your end. Cheers.

  2. Our wish, with warmth and joy, Is many more years of loving fun. Love Poems

  3. 乱火

    友よ!お元気ですか?寂しい時にちょっと目を閉じて、周りの友達がずっと応援するので、頑張ろう! 

  4. daphne

    all the best no matter what!!! stay strong! =)

  5. passerby

    take care!

  6. cloud

    Hi Sharon,
    came across this passage while watching a spanish drama (with english subtitles) on youtube. Thought of sharing with you.

    Life is an act of resistance
    and of re-existence;
    we live,
    re-live.
    But everything is held in our memory.
    We are what we remember,
    our memory is our nomadic home.
    As the plants
    or the emigrant birds,
    the memories have the strategy of the light.
    They go forward,
    like the rower who moves from behind to see better.
    There is a pain similar to a toothache,
    to the physical loss,
    and it is to lose a memory that we love.
    Those essential photos
    in the album of our life.
    That’s why,
    there is a kind of melancholy that does not catch,
    but nourishes freedom.
    In that melancholy
    as foam on the waves,
    our dreams arises.

    Hope you like it.

  7. cloud

    Hi Sharon,
    came across this passage while watching a spanish drama (with english subtitles) on youtube. Thought of sharing with you.
    Life is an act of resistance and of re-existence; we live, re-live. But everything is held in our memory. We are what we remember, our memory is our nomadic home. As the plants or the emigrant birds, the memories have the strategy of the light. They go forward, like the rower who moves from behind to see better.

  8. cloud

    (continue)
    There is a pain similar to a toothache, to the physical loss, and it is to lose a memory that we love. Those essential photos of our life. That’s why, there is a kind of melancholy that does not catch but nourishes freedom. In that melancholy as foam on the waves, our dreams arises.

    Hope you like it.

    (I’ve encountered problems posting my comment here. That’s why I’ve ended up with 3 comments. I’m sorry about that.Nevertheless, good luck to you, Sharon!)

  9. シャン

    hey cloud mind telling us which spanish drama is that?
    =)
    sounds interesting…

  10. ed

    hi sharon, will you be back for MediaCorp’s 45th celebration on the 23rd nov? hope you reply to this soon (:

  11. Thank you KoLd, Daphne and passerby, for your kind words and concern..

    ..and that was truly beautiful thank you for sharing with me CLOUD.

    arigatooo RanBI, chanto iki nokotteru wa..shikata ga nai dayo ne..
    ranbi mo gen ke de ne!

    And ED, I can’t attend the 45th Anniversary Gala cos i have classes to attend …sorry…

  12. Qwertyboy

    Aww, i hoping that you can win one of the best comedian or host award!

    We’ll all be rooting for you Sharon!
    Do take care. We seriously miss you. I still remember i rushed back from Perth last year to catch you host the Star Awards.

    Hahah. (:

  13. ed

    awww, that’s sad. never mind. shall see you back on national tv soon! i miss the way you host variety. bring your old style back after your graduation from Japan! (:

    阿好好介绍! cheers!

  14. Christy

    Yes, saw the 45 anniversay on tv and really do misses your past hosting programme!

  15. Leigh

    Hi Sharon-san,

    Just wanted to come by and say Hello. You are still my favourite host – wacky, witty and beautiful! I am not sure if you do plan on coming back to the industry but I imagine life must be blissful where it is. We will support you whatver you decide to do; come back to variety or enhance your culinary skills!

    Stay GENKI and I love Japan!~Leigh

  16. Qwertyboy,
    you rushed back from Perth to catch me in action last year!!?? Unbelievable!! Thank you so much I am really very touched to hear that.

    Thank you too, Ed, Christy and Leigh,
    I am not sure what the future brings, but i believe that one’s passion for performing never dies. I grew up loving the stage, and I embraced it with my heart and soul throughout my career.
    Those moments of joy on TV, I laughed I cried I stumbled and I started afresh all over.. again and again: What an incredible journey.
    I thank you for seeing me through all that thick and thin, my triumphs my mistakes..
    I could not have asked for more.

Leave a Reply

