TIMELESS.

Blame it on the rain? Or blame it on To The Herbs with my benign hegemon?

Or is autumn just a season that leaves one feeling maudlin and yes, melodramatic?

Est- il cet amour?

Slept on the floor last night, or have I slept at all?

Spent the night listening to a friend who was sobbing away on the phone, miles away. I could not help but wonder. In this city of love and possibilities, why does solitude devour us all?

“Death is better than loneliness” said Edith Piaf.

Who do you call when you need a voice?

“My yesterdays are all boxed up and neatly put away
but every now and then you come to mind.

Butterflies are free to fly and so they fly away
and i´m left to carry on and wonder why
even through it all i´m always on your side

this isn´t how it´s really meant to be..
no..this isn´t how it´s meant to be.

How to pull it close and make it stay?”


In a little while from now,
If I’m not feeling any less sour
I promised myself to treat myself
And visit a nearby tower,
And climbing to the top,
Will throw myself off
In an effort to make it clear to who
Ever what it’s like when your shattered
Left standing in the lurch, at a church
Where people ‘re saying,
“My God that’s tough, she stood him up!
No point in us remaining.
May as well go home.”
As I did on my own,
Alone again, naturally

To think that only yesterday,
I was cheerful, bright and gay,
Looking forward to, but who wouldn’t do,
The role I was about to play
But as if to knock me down,
Reality came around
And without so much as a mere touch,
Cut me into little pieces
Leaving me to doubt,
All about God and His mercy
For if He really does exist
Why did He desert me
In my hour of need?
I truly am indeed,
Alone again, naturally

It seems to me that
There are more hearts
Broken in the world
That can’t be mended
Left unattended
What do we do? What do we do?

Now looking back over the years,
And what ever else that appears
I remember I cried when my father died
Never wishing to have cried the tears
And at sixty-five years old,
My mother, God rest her soul,
Couldn’t understand, why the only man
She had ever loved had been taken
Leaving her to start with a heart
So badly broken
Despite encouragement from me
No words were ever spoken
And when she passed away
I cried and cried all day
Alone again, naturally
Alone again, naturally

19 Comments

Filed under love, Thots

19 responses to “TIMELESS.

  1. jade

    sharon
    solitude can be a blessing but it can also be so difficult..
    have been there and know that i have great difficulty dealing with it! 🙂
    you have a great future ahead so press on!

  2. Wind

    Have Faith & Be Strong

    Wind

  3. 朋友,加油。勇敢的前进吧!

  4. はい、きっと前向きに歩きます。
    ありがとう、
    聞いてくれてありがとう。

    明日
    明日があるから。

  5. the best yet to come! 🙂

  6. Suri

    Now’s time training…
    Man will grown
    Time will ripe
    so don’t give up, go on ahead 🙂

  7. Had a great day.
    Nothing beats the exhilaration of completing assignments.
    Although there are lots more revision to do..and upcoming exams.
    Je suis schoolaholic..that’s what i am.

    明日の漢字テスト頑張ります。
    俳句宿題をまだやってないですけど。。やばい。
    ポッカちゃんの授業もまだ読んでない。。しかたない。。

    また、パリへ行けるかどうか。。とりあえず挑戦しなきゃ。

    とにかく、生き残ることが一番大切でしょう。。

  8. Je ne pas schoolaholic. =p

    Haha. I like this you, the sharon au who’s not an actress. It seem like you are someone who dares to dream and step out.

    I hope that you will be always remain happy and be able to find joy in even little things.

    You have my blessings. =)

  9. pj

    W!ld Rice is putting up Jan 08. Everytime the song gets in my head… I can’t help but picture you in the scene… lol.

  10. Singapore

    Footprints On The Sand

    One night a man had a dream. He dreamed he was walking with the Lord. Across the sky flashed scenes from his life. For each scene, he noticed two sets of footprints in the sand; one belonged to him, and the other to the Lord.

    When the last scene of his life flashed before him, he looked back at the footprints in the sand. He noticed that many times along the path of his lif e there was only one set of footprints. He also noticed that it happened at the very lowest and saddest times in his life.

    This really bothers him and he questioned the Lord about it. “Lord, you said that once I decided to follow you, you’ll walk with me all the way. But I have noticed that during the most troublesome times in my life, there is only one set of footprints. I don’t understand why when I needed you the most you would leave me.”

    The Lord replied, “My precious, precious child, I love you and I would never leave you. During your times of trial and suffering, when you see only one set of footprints, it was then that I carried you.”

    Our God has never abandon you! Jia you!! Looking forward to seeing you on Sinagpore TV once again!!!

    Have faith! God bless & be blessed.

  11. wendy

    cheerup mighty sharon! know that god will never desert you, no matter where you are, he’ll always be near, hold and lift you up for you’r such a dear child to him. All the sadness and emptiness will eventually fade away someday, someday.God will make a way, when there seems to be no way! till the day, stay strong! ( :

    God Bless.

    love, wendy

  12. ju

    sharon..加油 =)

  13. cover yourself well as the autumn winds can be chilly. The lyrics of the song are so touching. Autumn can be a melancholic seasonて゛もあきはきれいて゛すね. Remember reading this in a psychology textbook, “We don’t smile because we are happy, we are happy because we smile.” Wonder if it makes any sense to you? Don’t forget to have a cup of café with your xue mei si tu viens à Paris. =)

  14. Yi Chao

    jia you bah!
    work hard too! =)

  15. Jaxy

    hiya pls delete my previous comment. I forgot to comment after i sign out of wordpress. Pls accept my comment that was signed off using my real name.

  16. 婉婷

    I enjoyed solitude but never loneliness. Solitude gives one space to think and reminisce.

    But I still thinks having companies is the best. And be glad you are not alone. You have so many ppl behind u:)

  17. Pingback: 因为 « 缘来缘去

  18. Beautiful poem… I think it’s very expressive.

  19. Rain

    The moment love dies, the heart will die..
    The moment hope dies, the soul will die..
    Live strong and fill your heart with love and your soul with hope.
    This way, you will find your meaning in life.

Leave a Reply

